21
Jan
07

Upside Down

Candles Album Cover Since I’m in that (music) loving feeling… I thought I’d like to showcase a track included in “Candles” self-titled album under Viva Records.

A brief background first: Candles is a Pop-Alternative band I am currently managing here in the Philippines and have already been making the rounds at your favorite local watering holes around Metro Manila. Their debut album consists of 13 tracks (10 originals and 3 revivals). The band’s influences, to name a few, are “Matchbox 20”, “Switchfoot”, “Maroon 5”, and a whole lot more. The whole album was recorded, mixed and mastered in my recording studio (CD Sound Labs) with me sitting in as Sound Engineer and Record Producer.

The track I am featuring below is a revival which is included in their album. It’s entitled, “Upside Down”, and was originally performed by an 80s New Wave group called “Two Minds Crack”. When we decided to include a few revivals in the album, Upside Down was the very first song I thought of and insisted to the band that they render. Since it was done by a New Wave group, the original execution of the song used lots of heavy synths, and electronic drum patches which we totally veered away from. We opted to strip it down and make it sound totally different from how most of you remember it by. I did the strings on the musical arrangment and also the backup vocals for the chorus (the “ahhhs” in the background). Most pinoys will not easily recall Two Minds Crack since “Upside Down” was probably their only hit, but once you listen to the song you’ll surely remember how it goes. For baby boomers, it’ll most certainly bring back memories of their childhood days.

So now, I give to you “UPSIDE DOWN” by Candles.

If you enjoy listening to this song, you’ll most certainly love the other tracks included in their album. So, please support the band by purchasing a copy at any of your favorite record bars in Metro Manila. And as usual, comments posted here (good or bad) are greatly appreciated. Enjoy!


16 Mga Tugon to “Upside Down”


  1. Enero 21, 2007 bandang 9:15 umaga

    I’m a HUGE alternative rock fan but have been a follower of mostly foreign artists. I’ve only recently tried to catch up with what ‘OPM’ has to offer. I’m checking this one out judging by their influences and that cool preview. Coincidentally, I’m hitting Music One this afternoon and I’ll tell you what I think.

    And on a blog note, where did you get that cool player? Is it a free service I can just sign up for?

    Thanks!

  2. Enero 21, 2007 bandang 8:25 hapon

    Hello Sir Martin…

    Thanks for dropping by and listening to the clip. Yes, please let me know what you think after previewing their album. Hope you like the other tracks.

    The music player I’m using has just been introduced by WordPress about 2 days ago. Finally, they have an audio player for our blogs! Just upload your songs to a file hosting service (try http://www.fileden.com) and copy the link to the particular file you want your blog readers to listen to.

    Here’s the format you should use when embedding the audio player:

    [audio=URL]

    For example:

    [audio=http://www.yourfilehostingservice.com/yourfile.mp3]

    No quotations. Just like that. You shouldn’t have any problems… but in case you do, just holler!

    WordPress promised to provide an embeddable video player very soon. Looking forward to that as well! Keep in touch! 🙂

  3. Enero 21, 2007 bandang 9:36 hapon

    That’s awesome! Thanks very much!

  4. Enero 21, 2007 bandang 10:16 hapon

    So, were you able to check out Candles’ album over at Music One? 😛

  5. Hunyo 1, 2007 bandang 11:29 hapon

    Hi,
    I was the lead singer/guitarist in Two Minds Crack and I wrote Upside Down – I really enjoyed the Candles version – keep up the good work!!

  6. Hunyo 2, 2007 bandang 11:41 umaga

    Hi Kevin!
    Wow…! Never thought you’d be able to visit my blog, let alone drop a line! I’m really glad you enjoyed Candles’ version of “Upside Down”.
    Coming from the creator of the song itself, it means a whole lot to me and to Candles. I insisted to our record label that the band do a remake of this 80s classic since I knew deep inside that “Upside Down” would sound great if it was rendered “Stripped Down” style.
    This composition of yours was an ENORMOUS hit here in the Philippines way back in the 80s… lots of wonderful memories come back to people’s minds whenever the song is played here. This, I believe, is the track in your album that really established “Two Minds Crack” in our country.
    You’d be surprised to know that there are a lot of radio stations and places (bars and nightspots) in the Philippines that actually regularly play this track…
    Kudos to you, Kevin, for creating such a wonderful song!
    Thank you very much for dropping by! Hope to hear from you again very soon! More power!

  7. 7 danilo
    Hunyo 25, 2007 bandang 1:44 umaga

    hi, i hope that i can download this song upsidedown, it’s my favorite song. if ever you could send me a copy of this song to my e-mail add. thanks and more power

  8. Hulyo 21, 2007 bandang 10:21 umaga

    I prefer the Two Minds Crack original rendition than the Candle’s rendition and 6cyclemind’s rendition of the same song…

  9. Hulyo 21, 2007 bandang 7:39 hapon

    Hello Daniel…
    We are all entitled to our own opinion… so there.

  10. 10 dinky
    Agosto 4, 2007 bandang 1:09 umaga

    can u pls help me to find the duet version of this song upside down. im really crazy about this song. thanks!

  11. 11 dinky
    Agosto 4, 2007 bandang 1:10 umaga

    can u pls help me to find the duet version of this song upside down. im crazy about this song. thanks!

  12. Agosto 4, 2007 bandang 1:27 umaga

    Dinky:
    Who did the duet version?

  13. 13 DrareG
    Agosto 25, 2007 bandang 6:04 umaga

    Aloha Mr. Dreyfuss,

    My name is Gerard and I am a huge OPM alterntive band fan and I say that you have a good and talented band here and I like their version of “Upside Down” and I use to remember watching you on tv’s when I used to be in the Philippines.

    More power and God bless and cool blog site by the way and thanks for letting us listen to a sample of the song from Candles =)

    Much Aloha
    – gerard –

  14. Oktubre 13, 2007 bandang 12:49 umaga

    Greetings Candles…loved the version of Upside Down.Don’t listen to Kevin Jones….I wrote upside down….I was guitarist and keyboard player in Two Minds Crack…that Jones fella gets everywhere!Joking aside, we wrote that and first recorded it back in 1983 ish,the finished version being released on The Victory Parade album in 1986.We didn’t find out until the 90’s that it was a big hit over there which was a shame cos to be sure we would have come out and played some gigs.It’s a big thrill to hear someone cover one of your tracks believe me.Keep rocking in the free world son…..and at least you got Kev’s words correct !!!
    Pete.

  15. Pebrero 25, 2010 bandang 11:44 umaga

    Great way to explain it. Can’t say more than to appreciate what you are penned down. can you show how to grab your rss feed? I couldn’t find how.


Mag-iwan ng puna


Sali Na! Join the Pinoy Wordpress Bloggers Group!






Enero 2007
L T M H B S L
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
293031  

Chuckster’s Pages

Top Clicks

  • Wala

Chuck's Blog Stats

  • 215,553 hits

Chuckie Dreyfus' Facebook profile




Check out
AZRAEL's COOL MIXES

Use OpenDNS

RSS Di-kilalang Ulat

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Will It Blend? That is the Question!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Di-kilalang Ulat

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Di-kilalang Ulat

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Di-kilalang Ulat

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Di-kilalang Ulat

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Di-kilalang Ulat

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.



My blog is worth
$73,954.74.


How much is your blog worth?




Test your Internet connection speed at Speedtest.net


Powered by WordPress - WordPress Blogs Directory


Blogarama - The Blog Directory


Add to Technorati Favorites





Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Add A Day In The Life... to Newsburst from CNET News.com
Subscribe in FeedLounge
Add to netvibes
Add to The Free Dictionary

Subscribe in NewsAlloy
Add to Excite MIX
Subscribe in podnova

Add A Day In The Life... to ODEO
Add to Pageflakes
Add to My AOL
Subscribe in Rojo


I heart FeedBurner


PinoyBlogMachine.com