05
Sep
07

Birthday Tribute…

Kuya GermsI recently guested on QTV’s, “The Sweet Life” which is hosted by Lucy Torres-Gomez.  And if you were paying attention to my blog a few weeks back, you’d know that this is already my second appearance on that particular show.  The first one was when I came out with my little daughter and, frankly, she had most of the exposure then.  Haha!

This time around, I was invited to be part of German “Kuya Germs” Moreno’s surprise birthday celebration.  Kuya Germs’ 75th birthday is still on October, but the program was doing a series of advanced tapings and the “tribute” was one of them.

I was asked to bring a card for Kuya Germs, but I thought a birthday card too simple… too… ummm… common.  So, I decided to give him a personalized CD of all my recent compositions with a birthday message written on the side of the disc.  Why a disc filled with compositions, you ask?  Well, mainly because I never really would’ve realized my interest in music long ago had it not been for his show that I was a regular of:  “That’s Entertainment”.

150px-GMA_logo_1980That was where I actually honed my talent as a musician… I even, for a time, became a musical arranger for his weekly Sunday television program, “GMA Supershow”.

Anyways, I was called in on stage to surprise him and to share with televiewers some good memories I’ve had of Kuya Germs.

So, I went in… exchanged pleasantries and went on to present my “token”.  Before I handed the gift, I explained on-air why I opted to bring that particular present.  Then I continued to read the small message out loud in front of him (the text was small and considering his age, I was afraid to strain his eyes…)

The message read:

Kuya Germs, maraming salamat sa lahat ng tulong at aral na ibinahagi ninyo sa akin.  Kung ano ako ngayon… kung ano ang aking naabot… at kung ano pa ang aking mararating… malaking bahagi nito ay dahil sa inyo.

Mahal ko po kayo.

Maligayang Kaarawan po.

– Chuckie Dreyfus

And as I looked up at him to hand it over, he took it and wanted to speak to the mic… but he couldn’t.  His eyes were welling up.  He tried to speak but got choked up… he stopped and looked down… sobbing… silent.  I thought we were gonna cut.  But we continued to roll… silence all around… only his sniffing could be heard.

Then, short of breath… he spoke.  He told everyone how much he was proud of me… he gripped my hand so tight and still continued to choke up in tears.  I didn’t actually think I’d make that kind of an impact on him during that taping.  I had never made him cry like “that”… I mean, by myself… yet I did.

I cannot fully put into words how I truly felt during those minutes… But as much as I knew that the show’s episode was done for him… to pay tribute to his accomplishments in the industry… a celebration of his life… and in recognition of his importance in showbusiness… during that particular moment, it was I who felt important… and that everything I have achieved was all that mattered to him.

Happy birthday, Kuya Germs.

Thank you for everything… God bless you always…

15 Responses to “Birthday Tribute…”


  1. Setyembre 5, 2007 bandang 10:33 hapon

    awwwww…..that’s sooooo sweeet!!!! Proud of you too, bro! More success for you!

    Kuya Germs was an instrument, now it’s your turn to pay it forward…I really believe that there are people who will really go out of their way to help you stand on your own….I know, because I myself have that someone who’s been guiding me…..

    Saludo rin ako kay Kuya Germs for the years na ginugol nya honing and believing in the talents of celebrities he has handled….

    Way to go to both of you! God bless you more!

  2. 3 Ann
    Setyembre 5, 2007 bandang 11:06 hapon

    Iba kasi ang feeling pag na-aappreciate ng isang tao yung nagawa niya para sa taong yun. Ikaw ang living proof ng paghihirap niya. Like you said, lahat ng nakuha mo at kung ano ka ngayon ay dahil sa kanya. Dun siya na-touch…yun yung impact. I myself felt so happy and teary-eyed… dahil ngayon ko na-realize people like you are still around. Kasi bihira na ngayon yung lumilingon sa pinanggalingan. Kaya I’m so proud of you 🙂

    Can’t wait to watch that episode. Tell us kung kailan para mapanood namin.

  3. 4 pao
    Setyembre 6, 2007 bandang 12:23 umaga

    awwww. nakakatuwa talaga siya, dami niyang natulungang tao. kaya na-bless siya ng maigi sa kanyang buhay, kasi naging blessing din siya sa marami eh.

  4. Setyembre 6, 2007 bandang 1:06 umaga

    kuya germs supposedly lives in my village, according to my mom. but i’ve never seen him.
    this guy is such an establishment. i’m so interested in making a thesis on him!

  5. Setyembre 6, 2007 bandang 1:17 umaga

    LAARNI:
    Awww…. lol… parang sexbomb dancer ah! LOL! 😛

    TINTIN:
    True… Kuya Germs always talks about how one should NOT be selfish to others… regardless if whom you are teaching would one day surpass you. Yan ang taong hindi maka-hindi kahit kanino kapag humingi ka ng tulong.

    ANN:
    Yes… it’s one thing to know deep inside that you’ve accomplished something… and a whole different story when somebody actually acknowledges and recognizes your accomplishments. It’s confirmation and fulfillment. Thank you, Ann, for the wonderful message… I really appreciate it.
    That episode will come out around mid October. Not sure exactly what day, but I’ll be sure to post it on my blog a good few days before it does. 🙂

    PAO:
    Yes… sobrang daming natulungan talaga. I always see him at Pilita’s restaurant (beside Greenhills Theater) whenever I’m in Greenhills. He’s there almost everyday, the WHOLE day till closing time. Even my kids look for him there… 🙂

  6. Setyembre 6, 2007 bandang 1:33 umaga

    PATTY:
    Hey there! Really? Where do you stay? Kuya Germs lives exactly along the street where JT Manukan is located. It’s the only three-floored building-like property on the street.

  7. 8 kengkay
    Setyembre 7, 2007 bandang 6:56 umaga

    chucks, i respect you for confirming to the whole world where you came from and for being grateful about it; i am happy that you found support from such a great man; i admire your choices in life; i am touched that you are taking time to build a difft pinoy community thru the forum and i am excited to reap rewards thru my association with you, naks — naki ride lang pala sa popularity, hehe… actually, nagpraktis lang ako ng inglis ko 😀 bilib talaga ako sa yo chucks, idol!

  8. 9 Kat
    Setyembre 7, 2007 bandang 11:53 umaga

    Finally I got to access your blog after a while! Something was wrong with my connection for a few months.

    I don’t really watch That’s as a kid, but of course I know you and few others who went to OB and were mainstays on that show over the years. But of course, kilala ko si Kuya Germs. Institution siya for sure, and over the years you get to hear many people in the biz thank him. I’m glad you were able to make a tribute to him. Nakaka-touch. I’m sure he’s very proud. 😀

  9. 10 Joe Taroogs
    Setyembre 7, 2007 bandang 3:35 hapon

    believe it or not, chuckie, i saw you when you were still with “That’s Entertainment”… no, i wasn’t a fan or anything… by then i was already too old to be spending too much time ogling movie stars (oo, matanda na ako. hehehe)… but to see you still acknowledging your “utang na loob” to Kuya Germs is truly heart-warming. 🙂

  10. 11 Rachelle
    Setyembre 14, 2007 bandang 4:44 umaga

    hi there! does anyone know when is the airing of this? thanks! 🙂

  11. Setyembre 14, 2007 bandang 12:21 hapon

    @ Kengkay
    Thanks… really! Though I did start the community, it wouldn’t have been a success had it not been for every one’s support. Tingnan mo, kahit wala ako madalas lately sa forum site, the community is thriving… dahil masipag at dedicated din kayo. Naks! Parang awards speech ba?! Haha!
    But seriously, I appreciate your very kind words! Nakakataba ng puso…! Naks ulit! Makabagbag damdamin!

    @ Kat
    Hey! Yeah… long time no hear. Good to hear from you again. Sorry sa late reply sa comments… apparently, there were no email updates during that time informing me of new comments on my blog kaya ngayon ko lang napansin. Weird. Thanks for dropping a line after a long spell. 😛

    @ Joe Taroogs
    LOL… “oo, matanda na ako”! hahaha… but seriously, yeah… I don’t think anyone can go on in life without acknowledging those who have helped you in the past in whatever capacity. Besides, those whom you leave on your way to the top are the very same people you will encounter on your way down as well…

    @ Rachelle
    Hi Rachelle! Since Kuya Germs’ birthday is in October… it’ll most probably be aired in the middle of that month. But I will post updates soon… I just need to confirm it’s airing date. Will keep you posted! 🙂

  12. Setyembre 20, 2007 bandang 6:35 umaga

    Hi! this is my first post here so I just wanted to say hello to everyone! hehe

    Also, congratulations to you Chuckie and Kuya Germs always representing the Philippines in a positive way, Happy Birthday din to Kuya Germs if he’s reading this! God Bless

  13. 14 sgp
    Setyembre 25, 2007 bandang 2:24 umaga

    awwww, that’s sweet. i bet kuya germs is so proud of you.


Mag-iwan ng Tugon

Sali Na! Join the Pinoy Wordpress Bloggers Group!






Setyembre 2007
L T M H B S L
« Aug   Oct »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930

Chuckster’s Pages

Top Clicks

  • Wala

Chuck's Blog Stats

  • 213,929 hits

Chuckie Dreyfus' Facebook profile




Check out
AZRAEL's COOL MIXES

Use OpenDNS

RSS Di-kilalang Ulat

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Will It Blend? That is the Question!

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Di-kilalang Ulat

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Di-kilalang Ulat

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Di-kilalang Ulat

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Di-kilalang Ulat

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.



My blog is worth
$73,954.74.


How much is your blog worth?




Test your Internet connection speed at Speedtest.net


Powered by WordPress - WordPress Blogs Directory


Blogarama - The Blog Directory


Add to Technorati Favorites





Subscribe in NewsGator Online
Add A Day In The Life... to Newsburst from CNET News.com
Subscribe in FeedLounge
Add to netvibes
Add to The Free Dictionary

Subscribe in NewsAlloy
Add to Excite MIX
Subscribe in podnova

Add A Day In The Life... to ODEO
Add to Pageflakes
Add to My AOL
Subscribe in Rojo


I heart FeedBurner


PinoyBlogMachine.com


